Total Members:23550 | Users Online:249
Millionth Post:electricsceadu

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 56

Thread: MCPX V2 Review

  1. #1
    Site Sponsor kylelnsn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,454
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 545 Times in 383 Posts

    Post MCPX V2 Review

    MCPX V2 Review

    General Overview
    Well it showed up today my MCPX V2 which I got from Blade Heli Spares, I must say they where a pleasure to deal with and their prices are fantastic! I would defiantly use them again in the future and recommend them to all RC Heli Addict users! Check them out! Blade Parts & Spares For All E-Flite Blade Helicopters | Blade Heli Spares

    So I haven't had chance to fling this little beast around to its full extent yet and will continue to update you all on its progress. But heres a bit of a round up and general review.

    Firstly Lets look at whats new, firstly the box, has a nice shiny red marking noting it as a V2. Thats the only difference so far, Lets delve into the box. The next thing I noticed was that the manual also has been updated to include the V2 mentions, a few changes inside but nothing major. See the images below.



    Next is the swash plate has the new o rings added to the ball links, well I can feel that difference is massive, with the new o rings compared to the V1 swash plate. It feels tight and sturdy but still has a small amount of slop. I would imagine with the addition of an aluminium swash on this helicopter you will really feel the difference.

    The new o rings are approximately half as wide as the canopy grommets, but do defiantly make a real impact on the swash plate. See images below.

    Not my image, but shows the o rings really well

    O ring on the right and canopy grommet on the left

    The next thing on the update agenda is the new design tail rotor well the difference is definatly noticeable. It is significantly longer than the old tail rotor and has a much sharper form, I think that it has some extra pitch added to the blade. It also has a gloss finish compared to the matt finish on the V1 version. We will see what the improvement is further on.



    The new V2 also comes with 30c batteries opposed to 25c on the V1. Although they are exactly the same size.


    The final new addition to the MCPX V2 is the 3 in 1 board, it has a new gyro and some software changes. I quote some technical information on the new board and gyros from another forum;

    " The V2 3-1 has a single triple axis gyro(Invensense ITG-3205) instead of 2 gyros(IDG-650/ISG-650). The ITG-3205 has 3 analog to digital converters(ADCs) that convert the 3 gyro analog rate outputs into a serial bitstream(up to 8kbps - no analog noise now) which are then FIFO'd to the main processor. In addition, the ITG-3205 has much better internal temp. sensors. They also changed the tail motor FET.

    Because of the change of architecture(serial bit stream), the main processor software has undoubtably undergone significant changes. "

    There is little change to be seen on the front of the board;


    V2 on the left /\

    Again we will cover its improvement in the flight review. Although I do feel that the real update here is the main board.








    Flight Review
    Firstly when starting the main motor on my particular version it sounds a little more smooth and straight into idle up all fine very much like the V1. I did some general flying and I must say this thing flys lovely, although very similar to my V1, but noticeable straight off the bat is there is tail no drifting what so ever. Solid as a rock! My V1 the tail slowly drifts and I find myself correcting this, but that is completely eliminated on this version.

    It also feels a little more responsive and out of the box I think that the settings are a little too responsive for a beginner. With some adjustment you can dull it down a little bit and man its so sharp. It really responds to your input and feels great to fly. Im not sure whether or not this is down to the new batteries but there is significantly more punch that the V1 and it will defiantly get into inverted easier (I am yet to test this fully)

    This new gyro makes a real difference even just in hovers and general flying, I simply cannot wait to fling this beast round and really push the limits.

    The head feels much tighter and I think that maybe some of this comes from the o rings that translates into tighter flying and the added response.

    I will be following up with further flying and testing, and think that these improvements will help the tail blowout issues known and debated. I really think that with a slight extension to the boom 99% of the tail issues will be resolved and make this a near perfect helicopter.

    In conclusion if you own a V1 I wouldn't rush out to buy one, but if you are upgrading or fancy a treat give it a bash, relatively it would also be great for the RC Helicopter beginner who wants to learn. I think that it is a great tool with little concern over the repair prices for the beginner. The V2 definatly is a new little beast and really does fly differently but better when compared to the V1. There is simply not an ounce of tail drift and it is much sharper with extra response to your commands. All in all a fantastic upgrade to the MCPX and long will this be a favourite for the beginner and expert alike.

    Positives
    More Responsive
    No tail Drift
    Much more PUNCH

    Negatives
    Still no brushless

    I will be flying this hard on the 20th of december and really pushing the limits so more to come soon! I will also get some inflight photos! More to come!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: jpg 6.jpg (38.7 KB, 34 views)
    Last edited by kylelnsn; 17-12-2011 at 04:08 PM.

  2. The Following 26 Users Say Thank You to kylelnsn For This Useful Post:

    bburton (21-12-2011), brin (16-12-2011), Cagey (16-12-2011), challis349 (16-12-2011), choppaholic (07-01-2012), Chris Boughton (17-12-2011), cjcj1949 (20-12-2011), CookieMan (16-12-2011), David Drew (18-12-2011), debrooker (16-12-2011), dogbiscuit (16-12-2011), gowen (17-12-2011), LaurenceGough (16-12-2011), LipolyGone (16-12-2011), mista_b69 (17-12-2011), NEAGRON (17-12-2011), Nick B (16-12-2011), Phantasia (10-07-2012), Rich23 (07-01-2012), SaneAdam (17-12-2011), schueyace (16-12-2011), simm0 (16-12-2011), simon1 (16-12-2011), steve g (16-12-2011), StreetDragster (16-12-2011), wilo76 (23-12-2011)

  3. #2
    Registered Member nitros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,650
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 143 Times in 120 Posts

    Default

    I will follow
    Mikado Logo 600 3D
    Evergreen Raptor 50 now R.I.P.
    Align T-rex 450 V2 gt5 fbl soon controlled by Ardupilot Mega 2.5
    Trex 600 nitro

    Hitec Aurora 9

    PL8 supported by Grant PSU aka "The Black BOX"

  4. #3
    Site Sponsor kylelnsn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,454
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 545 Times in 383 Posts

    Default

    So who else is having fun with theirs?

  5. #4
    Site Sponsor LaurenceGough's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Reading
    Posts
    5,385
    Thanks
    1,195
    Thanked 1,837 Times in 1,397 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the review - I'm liking the sound of the new gyro and tail rotor.

    As for the swash plate grommets - I always saw this as a cheap but mildly effective way of removing the swash slop with readily available parts (ok it did help a great deal), I was hoping to see that the slop issue had been fixed by better tolerances (even if there was an increase in price).

    More of a v1.2 .

  6. Remove Ads Between Posts
  7. #5
    Registered Member mista_b69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Rushden
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    223
    Thanked 68 Times in 53 Posts

    Default

    The rotorhead still has open ends on the pitch link guides... Tut tut... More pitch link sales lol.... Yeeeep...
    Velocity OS91HZ BstX FBL EDGE
    Velocity OS55HZ BstX FBL EDGE
    Align 700LE OS91 BstX FBL RadiX

    Align 600LE OS55 RadiX
    HENSELEIT 3DNT

  8. #6
    Site Sponsor kylelnsn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,454
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 545 Times in 383 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mista_b69 View Post
    The rotorhead still has open ends on the pitch link guides... Tut tut... More pitch link sales lol.... Yeeeep...
    Yeah but they are cheap as chips, and if thats the only thing you have to replace then awesome!

    @laurence I agree with the v1.2 because I was really hopping for a brushless, but it really is better!


    Also cheapest place I can find at the moment! for spares and the heli

    Blade Blade mCP X 2 BNF (BLH3680) Radio Controlled Helicopter - BLH3680

  9. #7
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,167
    Thanks
    248
    Thanked 623 Times in 487 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LaurenceGough View Post
    Thanks for the review - I'm liking the sound of the new gyro and tail rotor.

    As for the swash plate grommets - I always saw this as a cheap but mildly effective way of removing the swash slop with readily available parts (ok it did help a great deal), I was hoping to see that the slop issue had been fixed by better tolerances (even if there was an increase in price).

    More of a v1.2 .
    Microheli swash fixed all slop on mine. The difference is huge.
    Michal


  10. Remove Ads Between Posts
  11. #8
    Site Sponsor kylelnsn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,454
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 545 Times in 383 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AcidDrink View Post
    Microheli swash fixed all slop on mine. The difference is huge.
    And just to note, the Microheli & Xtreme Productions can be used on the V2 no problem.

  12. #9
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Chatham,Kent
    Posts
    508
    Thanks
    125
    Thanked 85 Times in 74 Posts

    Default

    Im thinking of giving the mcpx another go . I would also like to get about 10 lipo's . the question i have is i have a cellpro 10 is there some way i could link 5 lipo's together to make 2 packs of 5 then charge using the cellpro 10 or would i have to purchase a cheap charger . Diagrams or links would be be great.

    Anthony
    Blade MCPX BL
    Trex 450L 6S
    Compass Warp 360
    DX8

    Phoenix Flight Sim

  13. #10
    Site Sponsor LaurenceGough's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Reading
    Posts
    5,385
    Thanks
    1,195
    Thanked 1,837 Times in 1,397 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by miskin View Post
    Im thinking of giving the mcpx another go . I would also like to get about 10 lipo's . the question i have is i have a cellpro 10 is there some way i could link 5 lipo's together to make 2 packs of 5 then charge using the cellpro 10 or would i have to purchase a cheap charger . Diagrams or links would be be great.

    Anthony
    Hi Anthony,

    You can indeed, all you have to do is parallel charge them.

    I purchased this one here:

    mcpx charge connectors

  14. #11
    Site Sponsor kylelnsn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,454
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 545 Times in 383 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LaurenceGough View Post
    Hi Anthony,

    You can indeed, all you have to do is parallel charge them.

    I purchased this one here:

    www.rcheliaddict.co.uk/sale/59888-mcpx-charge-connectors.html
    You beat me to it Laurence!

    Yes as said you can charge multiples no problem at all, there are loads of connectors available!

    if your not it a rush;
    HobbyKing R/C Hobby Store : 2 Pin JST to 6 x E-Flight Ultra Micro plug Charging Harness


    Anyways no one has answered my question yet? How is everyone else getting on with their V2 MCPX's

  15. #12
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Doncaster
    Posts
    43
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts

    Default

    Definately more responsive and no drift on V2, when going inverted in my living room i used to get 2 out of 5 success rate now getting near on 4/5 much nicer, although a lot of guys can make it sing regardless of version, I do envy these guys ha ha lol......

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to EzSuprastar69 For This Useful Post:

    kylelnsn (17-12-2011)

  17. Remove Ads Between Posts
  18. #13
    Registered Member LipolyGone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Somerset
    Posts
    5,928
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    3,537
    Thanked 1,977 Times in 1,431 Posts

    Default

    Can you confirm that the new model does or does not have an extended tail boom?
    Martin
    Aka RCSlopesurfer

  19. #14
    Site Sponsor kylelnsn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,454
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 545 Times in 383 Posts

    Default

    Same length tail boom, just has a new rotor and apparently a new motor. But same length. Definatly better though!

  20. #15
    Registered Member LipolyGone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Somerset
    Posts
    5,928
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    3,537
    Thanked 1,977 Times in 1,431 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kylelnsn View Post
    Same length tail boom, just has a new rotor and apparently a new motor. But same length. Definatly better though!
    yeh but better for how long exactly? My 1st one was great for the first dozen flights then was rubbish from there after hence why they continuously sell out of boom kits all the time.
    Martin
    Aka RCSlopesurfer

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to LipolyGone For This Useful Post:

    mista_b69 (17-12-2011)

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

LinkBacks (?)

  1. Hits: 4
    14-03-2013, 08:18 PM
  2. Hits: 4
    11-01-2013, 02:21 AM
  3. Hits: 8
    13-05-2012, 03:28 PM
  4. Hits: 32
    28-12-2011, 12:48 PM
  5. Hits: 3
    22-12-2011, 05:21 PM
  6. Hits: 2
    21-12-2011, 10:58 PM
  7. Hits: 9
    19-12-2011, 04:34 PM
  8. Hits: 3
    17-12-2011, 05:54 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •